What to Eat at New Ubin Seafood Restaurant Singapore

On Fathers’ Day last year, my family decided to take Gluttonian Dad to New Ubin Seafood for dinner since the best present he loves to receive is the gift of food! Actually looking back, most of the times that my family has visited New Ubin Seafood was to celebrate an occasion such as a birthday or a family celebration, and New Ubin Seafood never fails to deliver:)

Well-known for its seafood and Zi Char offerings from the start, New Ubin Seafood Restaurant at Sin Ming Road has since gone on to expand its menu to include their Singaporean take on western fares like American, French and Indian cuisines – truly allowing their customers to be spoilt for choice!

LOCATION

Situated just off Upper Thomson Road, right inside Sin Ming Industrial estate near several garage workshops, it is best to head to New Ubin Seafood via car as it is located quite deep inside the estate. The restaurant is very popular but parking space is limited so best to carpool or arrive early when eating there.

SETTING

The seafood and zi char restaurant is predominantly outdoor seating, it is thankfully sheltered so patrons need not worry too much about the weather. The restaurant also has air-conditioned rooms available but I’m pretty sure you need to book them in advance. It is best to call and make a reservation before heading down as New Ubin Seafood Restaurant is quite popular and was packed the past few occasions that I visited for dinner. The alfresco and indoor table settings and chairs are like the local hawker type (plastic chairs), so everything is very casual here, great for a laid-back catch-up lunch with friends or a chill family dinner session. Shorts and tees are recommended since the Singapore weather is so hot and humid.

SERVICE

The staff were friendly and recommended items while we were ordering. Overall, a good experience.

MENU and FOOD

IMG_1547  IMG_1549

The SUCKLING PIG is a must-try for those who love this particular kind of dish. The crisp of the skin and the juiciness of the fat and meat was lovely, I couldn’t stop eating piece after piece of skin. However, to savour this yummy dish you would have to pre-order it in advance.

IMG_1559  IMG_1555

Another delicious dish that really tickled my tastebuds was the MUTTON BRIYANI. The rice and meat were served separately, perfect for sharing. I also loved how I was able to scoop my own portion of rice and meat and douse the right amount of sauce on my rice, just the way i like it:)  The mutton was really tasty, meat was very tender and not tough.

IMG_1553

If you like your noodles, I would recommend the BOSS BEE HOON. This dish was a delight even if the picture does not look that appetising >.<  It looks so simple (fried with dark sauce, pork lard and fish cakes), but it was very tasty and so so addictive from the first bite. I thought it was quite shiok (yummy), at least for me!

IMG_1563  IMG_1565

When at New Ubin Seafood, there is definitely one dish you just cannot miss out on – the house favourite and all-time famous HOKKIEN MEE! All I can say is that this is one super tasty hokkien mee and you just can’t stop eating once you start! The largest portion is always still never enough to go around;)

IMG_1544

Besides Zi Char, you can also find some really fresh and yummy sashimi seafood at New Ubin Seafood too like oysters. But what really got my attention was the Carabinero Prawns Sashimi! The prawns were so big, succulent and fresh in all its raw goodness. It was my first time trying this and I fell in love with it. Didn’t expect to find such good sashimi grade prawns here at all so this dish was definitely a pleasant surprise. Would recommend this for the sashimi and raw food lover. I must apologise for the very unglamorous picture, no one at the table was willing to wait for me to snap a picture of the prawns. The moment the dish touched the table, it was almost all gone!

IMG_1576

For dessert, I decided to try a warm bowl of durian pengat as per the restaurant’s recommendation.  I usually eat this dish cold so it’s my first time having it warm. But now that my tastebuds have experienced the warmness of this dessert, they definitely enjoy this warm fuzzy feel more compared to the soothing ice-cold feel of the cold version:) Trying the durian paste warm was a refreshing experience and also really yummy, the warmth adds an extra burst of taste sensation to the durian. The texture was smooth yet not too soft but sticky enough which I enjoyed, and not super mushy like how some buffet-served durian pengat are. Sometimes when it becomes too mushy, I feel like the taste is lost because for me the texture in durain pengat adds another dimension to the flavour. So for me, the bowl I tried here at New Ubin Seafood Singapore was good:)

RESTAURANT: New Ubin Seafood Restaurant

SPIED AT: Block 27 Sin Ming Road, #01-174, Singapore 575680

OPERATING HOURS: LUNCH (Tue-Fri): 11.00 A.M. – 2.00 P.M. (Sat, Sun, PH): 11.30 A.M – 2.30 P.M | DINNER: 5.30 P.M – 10.30 P.M. (Closed on Mondays for lunch)

CONTACT: +65 6466 9558

Leave a Reply

