Food Places at Telok Ayer Street – Lunch Guide for the Working Crowd

Ever since starting work at Telok Ayer Street, I have discovered what a food haven the area is! There’s just so many wonderful food places near and far scattered across the neighbourhood. Of course being at work, I don’t have the luxury of an infinite lunch period. But for a gluttonian, when there’s food, there will always be a way to make time;]

As the proverb goes: God gives all birds their food but does not drop it into their nests. Hence, I will try and make life easier by mapping and sharing my food trail of Telok Ayer Street (and maybe further beyond) through pictures of my lunch break:)

Below is a short list of places that I’ve hit so far, I will be posting more as time goes. I’m currently on a mission to discover 100 yummy dishes of food and drinks around Telok Ayer, am currently on dish 9. Come join me during my ‘lunch hour’ adventures on instagram Instagram  or via these hashtags – #gluttonian3workfood #100dishesofworklunch !

 

Hinode Izakaya Japanese Restaurant

This delightful little Japanese restaurant serves up quite a variety of meals and sushi. They are known for their affordable curry rice and bento lunch sets, which are a hit with the working lunch crowd.

IMG_0582

IMG_0581

 

 

IMG_0584

RESTAURANT: Hinode Izakaya

SPIED AT: 122 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 068591

CONTACT: 6336 3366

 

 

Folks Collective

This vintage styled eatery focuses on Thai food, but within its menu you will notice that its offerings are a mixture of asian fusion dishes. Their set lunches are popular and are served in a vintage-styled setting within tiffin carriers, which I found pretty cute.

IMG_1043

IMG_1052

IMG_1053

IMG_1575

IMG_1062

 

IMG_1063

IMG_1065

RESTAURANT: Folks Collective

SPIED AT: 20 Cross Street, #01-25 China Square Central, Singapore 048422

CONTACT: 6536 6739

 

The Muffinry

Coffee, sandwiches, pies, salads, muffins, little treats… you can find them here at The Muffinry! But my favourite thing about the place is its sweet dessert offering that goes by the name of CREME BRULEE TART! It’s a lovely little sweet treat – Soft custard matched delightfully with the crumbly texture of a tart. My sweet tooth just went to heaven and died:)

IMG_0766

IMG_1016

IMG_1023

IMG_0760

IMG_0767

IMG_1004

CAFE: The Muffinry

SPIED AT: 112 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 068581

CONTACT: 65096462

 

Sarnies

This cafe’s menu looks super intriguing but I have yet to try their food as I’ve been hooked onto their caffeine. I love their coffee there and believe you will too:) There’s indoor and outdoor seating, perfect for chilling during the occasional tea break or office escape. Will definitely update on the food once I’ve managed to grab a bite there!

IMG_1325

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

CAFE: Sarnies

SPIED AT: 136 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 068601

CONTACT: 6224 6091

 

SPRMRKT

I’ve visited this place twice and must say that my love affair with this one has been a roller coaster ride. I was super excited when I first saw the menu and couldn’t stop beaming like a child on a sugar high after trying the super YUMMY truffle fries they served. But I was disappointed with my main meal which was the fried eggplant (cold, stale and soggy) and avocado (lots of black colouration) salad, so I thought the rest of the food would be subpar as well. Thankfully I gave it another try because the Mac and Cheese Ratatouille that I had during my second visit was simply heavenly! Part self service bistro, part corner shop, SPRMRKT offers breakfast options and their menu alternates each day:)

IMG_1330

IMG_1335

IMG_1657

 

BISTRO: SPRMRKT

SPIED AT: 2 McCallum Street, Singapore 069043

CONTACT: 6221 2105

xoxo,

Gluttonian 3

Leave a Reply

