Just Me, My Eggs and the Wind in My Hair at Gastronomia, Cluny Court

I love the feel of the wind in my hair, while I lean lazily against the chair, devouring the pages of my latest eyeworm (since people refer to songs as their earworm I figured the respective word for books is as such no?). As I slowly graze upon the simple but delightful meal that has just been served up by the waiter, I sometimes wish that life could be as simple as a relaxing and carefree alfresco meal by the park all day – no – make that everyday.

My sister Gluttonian 2 took me to have breakfast at Gastronomia at Cluny Court one weekend and I was hooked. I always drive past the place on my way to Serene Centre for Mcdonalds and to borrow Dvds, but I never thought to stop by Cluny Court. The humble looking place houses a supermarket and also some pretty nice cafes upstairs and along the ground floor. It actually is a pretty nice place to chill at especially since it is not as filled with humans as the places in town are.

SETTING

Gastronomia at Cluny court has an alfresco seating along the road side, facing Cluny Park and Bukit Timah. It’s not much as compared to an alfresco seating atop the Sky Park of Marina Bay Sands with the killer view, or along the beautiful cobbled streets of Paris with street painters and their works to gaze out to; but it is relaxing in its own simple way. Whenever I see the cars whizz by the road, my mind wanders to the final scene in the wonderful Pixar animation UP, where Carl and Russell sit by the curb side and count the number of red and blue cars that pass by. I really really love that movie, maybe I’ll play that game with Gluttonian 2 the next time round;]

Across the street is the Bukit Timah Gate entrance to Singapore Botanic Gardens, making it very convenient for those planning a stroll after some coffee or a meal. If you are an animal lover, there are some perks too. Dog owners who have finished their walks in Botanics do stop by Gastronomia for a coffee or two now and then, and with little fluffy or giant fluffy in tow! It is always a delight to see a beautiful giant goldie lazing and snoozing by its owner’s feet, makes me want to walk over and squish their cutie faces. *Squishy Squish squish* :p

FOOD

But apart from these, the food itself is pretty great at Gastronomia. I love their all day breakfast egg sets that come with a choice of either sausage/ mushroom & onions/ tomato & mozzarella/ cooked ham/ salmon, plus a side salad. You can choose to get either an omelette or have your eggs fried or scrambled. SCRAMBLED is my all-time favourite!

Their coffee is not bad as well, and they have a pretty assortment of colourful pastries and pizzas to choose from, so you’ll definitely be spoilt for choice. They also have pre-packed food in their open fridges, so you can just grab a salad, cake (try their famous yummy tiramisu), lasagna, or pasta to go; and the best part is that they can heat it up for you if you like, so say bye bye to cold meals:)

Processed with VSCOcam

Scrambled Eggs with Sausage and Caramelized Onions – ($10.80)

IMG_6517

Egg Omelette with Sausage and Caramelized Onions – ($10.80)

IMG_6519

IMG_6521

Each breakfast egg set comes with a salad

IMG_6515The View from the outdoor seating

(There was too much movement going on from traffic and pedestrian activity so you’ll see ghost cars and floating parts within this panorama shot, sorry but I tried my best! But hey, it’s cooler this way anyway right;] )

There are many other Da Paolo outlets across the country like a Ristorante and also a BistroBar. So feel free to check them out here – Da Paolo Group Website.

RESTAURANT DELI/CAFE: Da Paolo Gastonomia

SPIED AT: 501 Bukit Timah Road, Cluny Court #01-01, Singapore 259760

OPERATING HOURS: 8.00a.m. to 10.00p.m.

CONTACT: 6468 7010

xoxo,

Gluttonian 3

One thought on “Just Me, My Eggs and the Wind in My Hair at Gastronomia, Cluny Court

Leave a Reply

